Learn What Certifications Your HVAC Technician Should Have

Learn What Certifications Your HVAC Technician Should Have

Working on an HVAC system is not for amateurs. The equipment is complex and requires a high level of skill to make repairs or to complete installations. It’s always wise to check out HVAC technician certifications to ensure whoever you hire has up-to-date skills and abilities.


The certification for HVAC technicians offered by the North American Technician Excellence (NATE) is recognized industry-wide. A technician must pass a knowledge-based exam to receive this certification. Specialty areas for NATE certification include gas furnaces, air conditioners, heat pumps, oil heating, and HVAC efficiency analysis.

EPA 608 Certification

As R-22 refrigerant is phased out and more HVAC systems are manufactured using R-410a, technicians should be on top of these industry changes. Technicians should comply with federal law and obtain EPA 608 Certification before handling refrigerant, which is a hazardous substance.

No one can legally purchase refrigerants without this certification. Contractors must pass a written exam to gain these credentials, which involve three levels of certification for handling refrigerant under different conditions.

HVAC Technician Certification

Manufacturers offer HVAC technician certification to dealers whose technicians train to repair and install their products. The certifications guarantee that the technician is qualified to perform tasks at an advanced level. This allows dealers to receive certification from the manufacturers, which in turn helps consumers discern if a dealer or contractor’s expertise is at the level it should be.

State Licensing

Most states issue some type of license for HVAC contractors, although New Jersey is an exception. Some local New Jersey jurisdictions do require licensing.

HVAC Excellence

HVAC Excellence is another certification organization for heating and air conditioning. Technicians generally take an exam on safety issues, combustion, systems diagnostics, or in other areas. Professional level certification is awarded for two years of work experience and for passing the exam, while master specialist certification is awarded for three years of work experience and demonstrated skills.

To learn more about how HVAC technician certifications help consumers gauge a contractor’s level of expertise, contact Aggressive Mechanical Contractors. We are committed to total customer satisfaction throughout Central New Jersey.

Our goal is to help educate our customers in Monmouth County, New Jersey and surrounding areas about energy and home comfort issues (specific to HVAC systems). 

Credit/Copyright Attribution: “DeiMosz/Shutterstock”

Leave a Reply

Close Menu